An open love letter to my friends

So I’m going to get a little sentimental on this post, but I haven’t felt like posting for awhile so I think this is a good way to start back up. This week has been a great week for catching up with old friends I miss dearly and it’s got me thinking.

I want to say first of all thank you to all my friends and tell you how lucky I am to have you. You guys listen to me, hang out with me, come visit me, and put up with me. Shucks, you even post on my Facebook wall. As a pathological extrovert, you literally keep me going. I hope that I can be as essential in your life as you are in mine. I’ve maintained for quite awhile now that everyone should just live in gypsy caravans we can all just travel around together. Trust me, everyone would benefit.

Hey, it's you and me!

Lately I’ve been working on being grateful since my problems are miniscule compared to, for example, the refugees I worked with last year, or people who are in ill health, or any other assortment of serious issues people actually have. Lately I have lamented that me and the hubby have not ever really taken a long vacation together and as we attempt to build a fledgling household, sometimes a vacation seems impossibly costly or an impractical use of money (you can thank my father for that sentiment.) As our summer schedule has begun to fill up, I realize that although I do want to try to squeeze in a vacation, I should focus more on the fact that we will have so many visitors coming, and I am so excited and grateful. I realized all it takes to go on vacation is money, but visitors come because of friendship.

(That being said, I’m also not laboring under any illusions that people aren’t also coming to see Atlanta!)

Thank you to my friends near and far. Despite any actual distance, I keep you close to my heart.

Categories: Favorites, myfriendsareawesome | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “An open love letter to my friends

  1. Allison

    I think you are fabulous – all the time.

  2. Jayne

    I must say friends are a special gift of life. After forty+ years as friends I can’t wait for my girls Cheryl and Jerri to visit me in April. Better than a trip anywhere!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

