Circus Nursery (no clowns allowed, well, maybe one.)

So this pregnancy journey is coming to an end, which I can hardly believe. The last month of pregnancy is a character-building exercise, one which I have not weathered the most gracefully at times. I’m told once I have her these last few weeks of discomfort, constant bathroom trips, and waddle-y gait will all be a distant memory–reason number 324 why I’m excited for her arrival!

So, before I become too busy ensuring that another living person’s every primal need is attended to, I thought I’d better post pictures of my nursery, which I am very pleased with. Anyone who knows me well knows I love a theme. I can’t have a party without a theme, such as my ‘Blue Ribbon BBQ’ I hosted last year. I’m sure no one remembers the decorations and details I relished over, but a girl’s gotta do something to occupy her time. Anyway, the great thing about nurseries is that you can obnoxiously pick a theme and run wild with it–which is my specialty. Also, anyone who knows me knows I love fairs, freak shows, animal decor, and red, white, and blue. What combines all of those?? THE CIRCUS!!!!

I got to work on Pinterest, carefully crafting how I was going to execute this theme. You can check that out here. People were great helping me execute my vision. My sister in law, Steph, let me use her crib and changing table, my mom offered to make the bedding and accent pieces and my mother and father in law started work on a furniture piece. My sister gave me a PERFECT antique elephant toy for the room. My friend Hannah Mae brought some great handmade accent pieces and helped me actually begin nesting when she visited. My friend Anna let me hold on to her childhood music box (the one clown allowed) which I remembered fondly from our childhoods, and our friends Paul and Lisa gave us a beautiful “Isn’t She Lovely” lyric poster. I am so grateful for everyone’s excitement and thoughtfulness in helping me prepare!! (Of course the room is full of the essentials because of everyone else’s generosity who attended my showers, so a huge thank you to them too!)

So, without much further ado, I bring you pics of the circus nursery! Please excuse my amateurish iPhone photos and blatant abuse of filters.

IMG_0611

Bedding made by Grandma Cheryl, dresser made by Grandma Cathy and Grandpa Bill, canopy from World Market

IMG_0604

Crib courtesy of Aunt Stephanie

IMG_0606

Music box courtesy of Auntie Anna, books courtesy of Auntie Hannah Mae

IMG_0605

Antique elephant toy courtesy of Aunt Livia

IMG_0610

Handmade night light

IMG_0601

Print from Uncle and Auntie Paul and Lisa, from Etsy

IMG_0600

Ferris wheel night light from ModCloth.com

IMG_0615

Banner and blanket made by Grandma Cheryl, basket piece from Sal Val, changing table courtesy of Aunt Stephanie, rocker from my childhood

IMG_0603

The final product!

In case you are wondering about what is in the little pictures, they are artwork from the Etsy shop The Black Apple. They are part of her series, Lost in the Midway. Here they are up close, as my iPhone takes TERRIBLE pictures of pictures in frames.

Lost in the Midway

What’s that? Circus freaks in a nursery are weird?
Sounds like you’re dealing with your own issues. Jokes.

Adorbs

Wow this room contains a lot of love from a lot of people! A huge thank you to everyone who contributed to my vision and helped me get ready, emotionally and materially!! Now this room needs a baby…

Categories: Baby Bumble Bea, myfriendsareawesome, The People We Know Are Amazing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

